my vows, two weeks minus a day

Standard

“We began as friends. I’m so glad for that. There was no pretense for being the ideal partner, no showing of only our very best in order to snag a long term commitment before the flaws and quirks were let out. It was honest from the start. I can stand here today and run through the cliched promises, for better, for worse, sickness and health, but these things don’t need to be said. You and I have been through the tests of all of those vows over the past 5 years.

When you were sick, I took care of you, not because you needed me but because I needed you. When I dealt with the past, coming close to falling apart, you didn’t hold me up… you held my hand and walked me through the stress. When things are best, when there are loud sushi dinners with friends, quiet nights watching cheesy movies or private jokes and monkeys and titmice, making stupid faces and the joys of unique finds in yarn shops and rock concerts. I know those exist because it’s us together.

I thought long and hard about the promises I needed to make today, considered my words carefully and thought about what is really important. It comes down to these. I promise that I will try always to be the person I am now, the person you know, not to change too much or too fast or to stop laughing and sometimes rolling my eyes and groaning at your jokes. I promise to fall apart once in a while, to remind you how much I need you to bring me back down to earth. I promise to read your articles when you need a second set of eyes. I promise that the weight of the yarn in our house will never be greater than the weight of the car in our garage. I promise to care for you when you are sick, or hurt, even if it is self-inflicted and two o’ clock in the morning and you’ve busted my favorite bottle of wine on the way down. I promise that I will always be there when you need me, I will always be a partner to you, a parent to our children. I promise to be your friend, to respect and support you, and to share life with you throughout the years.”

One response »

  1. Simply amazing. Should I ever brave the getting married vows again I hope I can say something as profound as this. Thank you so much for posting this. I adore your blog!

Leave a Reply

