How Do You Do It?

Standard

I’m getting this… a lot.

I do it by setting my alarm for 5:30 and actually getting out of bed. The reality is my work day starts at 7:45 and I need to be ready to just go. Running after 7 kids all day is a lot of work. I’m okay with with. I have to be to the gym and back by 7:30.

I do it by not sitting down when the last kid leaves. I settle my own two into a craft or colouring or sometimes a movie (we don’t have cable) and immediately going to the gym for a second cardio session. B takes care of starting dinner, I take care of prep and planning.

I do it by taking the daycare kids and my own to the pool for the day. In this heat it’s not a big stretch to get to the pool, no one argues. Instead of sitting and watching them swim, I do this crazy thing where I put on a suit and jump in the pool, piggy back of the little kids (usually Miss D, 52 lbs) and do laps in the water. It’s a really good work out.

I do it by not buying junk, or buying junk food that only B likes (uber spicy) or that I’m allergic to (I have a big time food sensitivity to an artificial sweetener used primarily in artificial butterscotch) or that I just don’t enjoy.

I do it by writing out my meals in advance (though I am admittedly slack on this).

I do it by almost never shopping in the middle aisles of the grocery store.

I do it by having a photo at my worst at an arms length of my gym bag and the fridge.

I do it by knowing as hard as it is now, it will be harder if I start a week from now, a month from now, a year from now.

I get frustrated, I argue with myself for a good 20 minutes in the morning before I just get up and go to the gym.

I am stiff…. a lot. Not really sore, but my muscles are feeling the hard work. I’m pretty sure if my body was an independent country, my ass would over through the brain and I’d be munching a snickers.

How do I do it? I just do it. No excuses, no head games, no more weight.

How do you do it?

One response »

  1. I really admire your hard work and dedication. I went through the same process, five years ago I lost 40 pounds, and I’ve managed to keep it off. Like you, I completely changed my way of eating, and I incorporated exercise into my life. I joined a gym, I walked, jogged, worked out on machines, and I also took long walks around my neighborhood, to the park, etc. My husband and I began to take wonderful walks on Friday evenings around our neighborhood and we noticed all sorts of wonderful things that we had never seen while in the car. On foot our city came alive with all sorts of new details! It was a lovely discovery. We took the time to look at charming houses and to notice when trees and bushes were in bloom, and we suddenly realized how much fun it was just to be outside and moving.
    These days I haven’t been going to the gym, but I ride my exercise bike every morning while I check in with my mom (I call her every morning and together we solve all the problems of the world, hee hee) and still take walks around the neighborhood, and my husband and I go to the beach and take long walks on the sand (wish I could do that every day! unfortunately we live almost an hour from the beach, so a daily beach walk is not in the cards) and I try to keep my diet pretty clean. No fried foods (though I allow myself to have french fries three times a year… this was kind of a random number that I chose, I figured that three times a year wouldn’t kill me) and I try to not have any junk food in the house. I do, however, require very high quality chocolate…. I must have one or two small squares of dark chocolate every day, because, after all, we are not barbarians eh? πŸ™‚ A little treat is necessary to keep the wheels of happiness greased. In my book the seasons are not marked by the thermometer…. nosiree, for me the indication that summer is here is the fact that it’s time to put my chocolate in the refrigerator. πŸ™‚ I always have a little stash and I happily snap my little squares off and put the rest of the bar back in the fridge for tomorrow. Knowing that the chocolate waits for me and another happy interlude will be had when lunchtime tomorrow comes. This is what separates us from the beasts of the field. Ha ha. I have a quirky outlook on life, I admit.
    I’ve really enjoyed the lifestyle change and the elimination of garbage food from my diet. I won’t say that I don’t sometimes long for some good old greasy food or a big slab of something naughty, but really I just don’t let myself accept that anymore. When the desire comes, I just tell myself that this food does not exist in my world anymore and that’s that. Once in a blue moon I’ll indulge in something, and afterwards I will feel like, eh, it really wasn’t worth it, and I move on. Except the fries. Three times a year they are SO worth it. And you can believe that I don’t bother with bad quality fries, nope they are the big steak fries from somewhere really good and I love every bite. And then I put the thought out of my head and move along until a few months later when I’m ready for my next ration, and when I’ve hit the third ration of the year I happily wait for the calendar pages to flip to the next year and so it goes. Fries are not a part of my world in the in-between.
    Oh, and birthday cake. Birthday cake is okay, because really, are we not just being thoughtful in helping a friend or loved one celebrate their special day? Is it not merely being polite to have a little sliver of birthday cake and salute the birth of someone dear to me? Yes, it’s only right that we eat birthday cake. A small piece. It’s the kind thing to do. πŸ™‚ After all, birthdays don’t come every day.
    It sounds like you’re doing a fantastic job, and please just keep in mind that it’s a lifestyle, it’s not a sprint, it’s a way of living, and you’re amazing! You’re making wise decisions and you’re setting a healthy stride that will bring you a future of health and strength and well-being that will make your life much more amazing than it ever was when bad food was center stage. Keep up the good work, and may you have a very joy-filled future ahead! Kudos to you for your hard work and perseverance!

Leave a Reply

