Trip down the aisle

Standard

We’ve picked this Ben Taylor song to walk down the aisle to

Lyrics

First morning ever to have seen the sun
Must have run the other way
Until she found that it was only getting earlier that way
When she spun one-hundred eighty degrees
And beheld the sweet light rising through the trees
She fell to her knees and she began to smile, because
She had been in darkness for a long long while,
She said…

There is nothing that I can do but belong to you
Heaven and Earth and I find myself
Singing this song for you
As luck would have it, it just so happens that there’s
Nothing I’d Rather do

And the first lesson ever to have learned its way
Must’ve been surprised
All i can say is I’m just glad that i survived,
And the first river to have met the sea,
I believe he must’ve sighed, said
All this rambling I’m glad to finally find, that
After all I haven;t just been wasting my time.

There is nothing that i can do but belong to you
Heaven and Earth and I find myself
Singing this song for you
As luck would have it, it just so happens that there’s
Nothing I’d Rather do.

Just so long as you’re flying around high
Whatever you find out in the sky
dont forget to fall down sometimes
I’m easy to find, look around you
It’s a good thing that I finally found you.

There is nothing that i can do but belong to you
Heaven and Earth and I find myself
Singing this song for you
As luck would have it, it just so happens that there’s
Nothing I’d Rather do.

Ben Taylor is the son of James Taylor and Carly Simon. Being raised by my mother, I’m a James Taylor, Ben Taylor and Carly Simon fan. Frankly, her love of JT is stalking adjacent and when it came to me being a fan or not… Let’s just say I never stood a chance.  Luckily, this is one of the songs B and I can agree on. Our musical tastes are very, very different. Overlapping love of the Beatles (though he wasn’t a fan until we met), Beach Boys, Tom Waits, Rise Against, Ani Difranco, Pink and similar artists keeps us sane when we put music on. My love of Britney, PCD and poppy punk makes him a little queasy. His love of punk and gravelly pub tunes makes me twitch.

I’d listen to it for the rest of my life if it made his day… but that’s a lot of twitching.

Leave a Reply

