Oldest H is my thinker

Standard

She keeps it to herself… when oldest H says something funny, it’s not silly like Miss D.

It’s dry, it’s witty and it makes us laugh.

She quiet, she’s shy, she’s intelligent and she reminds me more of B everyday. She adores him, looks up to him.

Sometimes it’s hard to realize that she’s getting older. She turns 9 next month and I can’t help to think about the fact that in as many years she’ll move away to University! I’m halfway to the point where my darling baby girl will be moving away.

I know I said I would post her little witticisms to giggle about… but I’m feeling nostalgic.

Oldest H is my ‘challenge me’ baby. A heart condition diagnosed in her first few weeks, an anomaly that should have presented a certain way but baffled the pediatrician by presenting in a completely different one. She didn’t sleep through the night until she was 7… weeks after her surgery to correct an unknown case of sleep apnea. We still struggle occasionally to get a full night of sleep around her.

At 3 she could get out of her bed, over a baby gate, over a second baby gate, through a child lock, a locked fence gate and through a closed pool safety gate if it meant she could dip her toes in the swimming pool. We dubbed her ‘Little Miss Houdini’. She hasn’t stopped living up to that nickname yet.

At 7 she was happy to jump off a 20 foot cliff with me into the lakes… she looked up to the 75 foot level and wanted to tackle it also. She pushes her riding instructor to let her run faster on that horse, to jump higher. She jumps in the path of the soccer ball in a field full of older boys and doesn’t think twice when she slips in the mud. She was desperate to climb the cn tower with me a few weeks ago but age limits put a stop to that.

Last summer she got her very first skinned knee… her first wound of the playground variety. Despite being incredibly active and spending so much time outdoors she managed to make it to age 8 without any need for band-aids. She tripped head over heels and managed to scrape the tops of her feet, her ankles, knees, both hands, elbows, her chin, her forehead and we later learned, fractured her nose. When she did this… she calmly walked inside and said “I think I need a band aid” a few quiet tears running down her face, no drama… just a need for a band-aid.

The strange thing is, despite being my fearless older leader child, never afraid to fall, never afraid to play with the animals, never afraid to camp in a rainstorm or help someone who is hurting… she is the one who makes you earn her love and trust. If you push her, she shuts you out. She worries about being emotionally hurt by people, she takes a long time to trust people. She wants to make sure they deserve it. She loves on her own terms. I’m so blessed to have unconditional love from her, to have that unbroken trust without fail.

She’s my dreamer… she’s my adventure taker…

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

